Combat Cargo on the Job

I found these pictures today. The USS Bonhomme Richard received its first supplies at sea. LCpl Honda is probably in these pictures somewhere, but of course I can not tell where. Nothing new there.

combatcargo4

A MH-60S Seahawk carries supplies from fleet replenishment oiler USNS Henry J. Kaiser to USS Bonhomme Richard here Sept. 30 during an underway replenishment. The resupply was the first for Bonhomme Richard since deploying Sept. 24 with more than 1,200 11th Marine Expeditionary Unit members.

combat3

Marines aboard USS Bonhomme Richard here prepare to connect a pallet to a hovering MH-60S Seahawk helicopter during an underway replenishment Sept. 30. The re-supply was the first for Bonhomme Richard since deploying Sept. 24 with more than 1,200 11th Marine Expeditionary Unit members.

combatcargo2

Combat cargo Marines and sailors aboard USS Bonhomme Richard here connect cargo nets to an MH-60S Seahawk helicopter during an underway replenishment Sept. 30. The re-supply was the first for Bonhomme Richard since deploying Sept. 24 with more than 1,200 11th Marine Expeditionary Unit members. I am pretty sure LCpl Honda is in this picture.

090930-M-2697B-001

Sailors aboard USS Bonhomme Richard here gather cargo nets during an underway replenishment Sept. 30. The re-supply was the first for Bonhomme Richard since deploying Sept. 24 with more than 1,200 11th Marine Expeditionary Unit members.

Pretty awesome. I have some pictures that I plan on taking off of FB too and will post those as I collect them.

These pictures and send off pictures are all on my shutterfly site as well if anyone would like to see them. There is a news story on Marines.mil about the USS Bonhomme Richard receiving supplies at sea. Although I can not seem to access it. Could be the computer I am using at the moment. I will post the link anyway and check it later.

One Response to “Combat Cargo on the Job”

  1. I would like it if you have any updates regarding the BHR. My husband is on the ship and we do not live in San Diego and do not get the SD news here. I’m sure the new in SD do talk about the ship. All I get here is LA news and I haven’t heard anything in the news about what is going on. I did how ever find an article that mentions the ship and kind of what they are doing: http://www.dvidshub.net/?script=news/news_show.php&id=39617

    I did see these pictures on FB. But for some reason, I did not the the explaination on what was the picture of or what was going on. Thanks, Mona

Leave a Reply

