Sunday Brunch

Well here we are another edition of Sunday Brunch. My week was pretty routine. I did get and email from LCpl Honda on Monday. He said the internet was down and he was not able to make contact before that time. Basically he just wanted to know if I took care of some business concerning his car. Yes, that’s my son, no “I miss you mom.” or “I am homesick mom.” All kidding aside, he is older and I do not expect to have a lot of contact with him. Thank goodness for FaceBook and Twitter. I feel very fortunate to have access to information about this deployment.

I started a shutterfly account in order to keep friends and family updated. So now I am keeping up with two blogs, this one and juliannah by design, writing for Parent’s Zone and LCpl Honda’s deployment site. I am very pleased to announce that juliannah by design is actually making me some money. Yea for me! It is really nice to turn something you love to do into something you get paid for.

After suffering major dog hair infestation, we took Buddy, our long-coat chihuahua to the groomers. Buddy was leaving huge tufts of hair everywhere. So he is now sporting a buzz cut. Of course, going to the groomer is always a traumatic event but when I get to work and102_2617 discover dog hair glued to my clothes something has to give. Here’s Buddy pre-groom visit and pre-moulting

Picture 007Ta Da!. Can we all say, “yo quiero taco bell!”

 He really is not as defeated as he looks. My big, red dog Lucie did not recognize him when he came home. Since Lucie has only been with us for a few months, she has never seen Buddy with a buzz cut. What did I do while Buddy was getting buzzed? Vacuumed the house from top to bottom of course!

Our garden is experiencing a resurgent in growth. July and August took a toll on the garden. It was just a bit too hot and I believe the plants went into a sort of hibernation against the heat. Corvette went out yesterday and harvested our lone cucumber and his belovedPicture 003peppers. He also planted some more lettuce and spinach. We planted these earlier but alas, the heat was too much and they did not make it. Hopefully we will have better luck this time around. Corvette and I decided to plant early in the spring, lay off in the scorching hot months of July and August and resume late September and early October.

So this brings me to today’s Sunday Brunch recipe:

Steak and Honey Mustard Chicken, Macaroni Salad and Corn

T-bone steak seasoned with sea salt, pepper, onion powder and meat tenderizer. Baked in the oven at 350 degrees. Then broiled for about five minutes on each side.

Boneless chicken seasoned with sea salt and onion powder and baked in the oven at 350 degrees until almost done and then cover with Honey Mustard Sauce

1/4 cup of honey

1/4 cup Morehouse Dijon Mustard (the best mustard in the world in my most humble opinion)

Macaroni Salad

1/2 a package of Salad Macaroni cooked

1/8 cup of red bell pepper, green chile, carrots, white onion & pickle relish chopped

1/2 cup mayonnaise

1/4 cup rice vinegar

1 Tbsp sugar

Mix everything together and add a little salt, pepper, & paprika chill and serve.

Picture 020

Picture 026Oh, one last news item. Lolly’s tree has flower buds! The tree is doing very well and I am sure we will be enjoying oranges this spring!

 

Happy Sunday!

Leave a Reply

