Sunday Brunch

This week started out with a real bang. We had a fierce storm early Monday morning bringing close to hurricane force winds, downed trees and mud rain to the Desert Southwest. I recounted the whole experience on juliannahbydesign. My other blog is still in transition so if you cannot get to it check back in a few days.

The rest of the week was uneventful except Corvette came down with a nasty cold, for the fourth time this year! He tells me there are many people at his work who are sick and that is why he keeps catching it. As for me, I have managed to dodge the bullet each time. Knock on wood! I just walk around trying to avoid touching anything he touches and even spent a couple of nights on the couch to avoid the germ fest in our bedroom. At least he is feeling better now, so hopefully there will be no more sickness this year.

Saturday was Cinderella’s wedding shower; complete with, of course a Cinderella theme. My daughter’s BFF, Navy Girl and soon to be MIL threw the shower and along with some great food, we had glass slipper favors, a rum vanilla cake and a surprise visit from a special friend that Cinderella has not seen in awhile.

We played lots of games which included: Bridal Charades, another one trying to not mention the Bride and Groom’s actual names (in which case we would lose the diamond ring on a ribbon to the person catching us saying the names), and my personal favorite, dressing each other in toilet paper wedding gowns. We had teams for that one and I will tell you why it was my favorite. I got to be one that was dressed and guess what? I won! My prize? A pumpkin coach candle. My team consisted of Cinderella’s future SIL and one of Lolly Pop Kid’s daycare teachers. They designed my gown complete with a train and veil. I even had a bouquet! Butterfly got to be dressed as a bride too. Cinderella’s future NIL was the third bride. Personally, I thought we all looked incredible considering it was toilet paper!

Six weeks until the wedding and considering how much fun the shower was, I know the wedding will be perfect!

Today’s Sunday Brunch is Man-Size Manicotti. If you ever saw the movie Grumpier Old Men, you know what I am talking about. Also, this manicotti has meat in the shells, not just cheese. Corvette is anything but a Vegan and meatless meals do not appeal to him. One time we went to eat at a local Italian restaurant and he ordered manicotti. I forget to tell him that it is usually made with cheese. Needless to say he did not really enjoy his dinner that night. Just another reason mine is called:

Man-Size Manicotti

1 box manicotti pasta

1 jar spaghetti sauce

1 pound hamburger

1 15oz tub of ricotta cheese

2 tbls spoons parmesan cheese

1 tsp parsley

Brown the hamburger. Mix in about a third of the ricotta cheese and about a third of the sauce. Cook the pasta and let them cool. Spoon the hamburger mixture into the pasta. Place them in a baking dish and pour the remaining sauce over the stuffed pasta. Put the rest of the ricotta cheese on top and sprinkle with the parmesan cheese and parsley. Bake at 350 degrees for a half an hour.

That’s it. Happy Sunday Brunch!

2 Responses to “Sunday Brunch”

  1. […] This post was Twitted by italiancuisine […]

  2. […] Sunday Brunch « Life is like a box of chocolates Share and Enjoy: […]

Leave a Reply

