Deployment Gremlins

I have read on a few military wives’ blogs about deployment gremlins. I am assuming they are problems that only crop up during deployment. My gremlins definitely inhabit that damn car. Yes, LCpl Honda’s car.

Just when you think, all is well the curse of the car strikes again. LCpl Honda emailed me on Sunday night. This is what he said:

Subject Car Registration stuff… again 😦

“Hey I know we thought this stuff was done but I need you to check on something for me. I got a letter yesterday from the ****** DMV about my car not getting registered and being late, they said I owe them $500 some odd dollars. Anyways I need you to contact the ****** DMV and tell them that my car is registered in ****** now and make sure that I don’t owe any of that money. Thanks Mom, love you.”

NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!

Breathe Juliannah.

Once again, images of Power of Attorneys flying back and forth and people refusing to speak to me go through my mind. Why, why, why?

I decide to wait until I get home from work to call because I do not need to be standing in a parking lot begging some unknown person to help me. When I called, I get a computer telling me that the wait for a human should be less than ten minutes. Ok, I can do that. After a few minutes, the voice comes on and says the same thing. After 10 minutes, the voice comes on and says the wait is now longer than 10 minutes and I should hang up and call back later or another day.

I. Don’t. Think. So!

Sooo, I just put the phone on speaker, sit it on the table and take a seat on the couch. I figure there is no way I am going to hang up and call back. I am still trying to figure out how less than 10 minutes can turn into more than 10 minutes. I really do not think you can take cuts on a phone line. Nope, I think it was a ploy to get people off the phone. I never had much love for the DMV anyway.

Now this is the real funny part. 30 seconds after I put the phone on the table, a woman answers. That’s right. Gotcha DMV! So I brace for the worse and start to explain the situation. She tells me I need to mail the original letter and write on it that the car is registered in my state. Ah, I explain that the letter is floating somewhere in the middle of the ocean and besides that I just received a Christmas card from LCpl Honda postmarked Dec. 15 yesterday. That is not happening.

She thinks for a minute and then tells me to send a copy of the registration along with a letter stating the car is registered. She also asks me about LCpl Honda and his deployment and says to thank him for his service. Finally, an angel amongst all the devils I have spoken to throughout this deployment!

So another car problem solved. Except the car battery is dead again, but that is Corvette’s problem.

I am sure the gremlins had something to do with that too. Because I am sure, when I am gone they are rocking out to the radio and playing with LCpl Honda’s GPS.

4 Responses to “Deployment Gremlins”

  1. Oh,the good old DMV not much love here either. Makes me wonder why so many at the DMV are so arrogant….
    As for the gremlins…they seem to breed each other. Once one starts more seem to come by. I had kitchen cabinets slide down my wall, the car breaking down and the built in microwave dying on my virtually at the same time. One toilet didn’t flush anymore and within a week I replaced all 3 toilet flushers in our house. It’s as if they are talking to each other. There comes a point, I just started laughing!

  2. deployment gremlins suck, I refer to mine as murphy. He and I are close friends, sadly.

  3. juliannah Says:

    @Susanna I have not reached the laughing point yet! Still at the hair-pulling stage.

    @the mrs Seems everyone has them in one form or another, but my nephew went to Iraq twice and I don’t believe my sister had one!

  4. […] I guess I can start thinking about what I need to get done. Here’s hoping the deployment gremlins will leave me alone. So far, so good. Knock on wood. I think threatening to unleash the cat on them […]

Leave a Reply

